Race Car Cake On The Fly!

Caterpillar Cupcake Cake  Race Car Cake!
Yes I had all the intentions of making a caterpillar cake, and at the last minute, I mean last minute, cupcakes almost all ready to go into the oven, the birthday boy changed his mind.  Since my boys birthdays are the one day each year I do my best to let them choose everything I make for them to eat, I didn't have the heart to say no.  So I made a race car cake on the fly and it actually turned out better then expected.  It was a cinch to make improvising with things I had on hand.
  Here is what I used:

Read more »

24 thoughts on “Race Car Cake On The Fly!

  1. Good for you for changing on the fly like that. I think the wheels are adorable. I made a trash truck cake a few years back and used those choc covered min doughnuts. Those things were awful tasting and we threw the bag out. I think the cupcake tops would have been a much tastier choice.When my youngest son turned four he asked for a racing birthday party. I considered making a race car cake, but instead made a race track cake(which seemed easier in my mind) that I've now made twice. He is obesessed with all things racing. He even sleeps with a matchbox or two in his bed. Maybe yours does that too? Here's a photo of our racing birthday party.http://fromchapelhilltochickenville.blogspot.com/2012/03/racing-birthday-party.html

  2. This cake looks great. It doesn't even look like you decided to make it last minute. Thanks for sharing at Showcase Your Talent Thursday. I hope to see you there next week!

  3. The race car cake is awesome!! You are one talented mom!!! We're so glad that you linked up to our "Strut Your Stuff Saturday." We hope you'll be back soon. -The Sisters

Leave a Reply

