Money Saving Homemade Almost Kashi Whole Grain Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

A Bacon Time reader by the name of  Lorie Krajewski recently emailed me with a challenge.  She wanted to know if I could come up with a recipe similar to Kashi's Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Soft-Baked Cookies.  She personally loves the cookies, but at around 50 cents a piece, she was hoping to find a more affordable way to satisfy her craving for the wholegrain treat.  I think I came up with a recipe that is very similar tasting to the Kashi cookies. 
 The good news is that my homemade whole grain cookies cost almost half the price of the store bought cookies. When I gave a blind taste test to my husband and two boys, the homemade cookies were a unanimous favorite.

Read more »

30 thoughts on “Money Saving Homemade Almost Kashi Whole Grain Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

  1. These look so good! Can't wait to make these myself, I can't always get my brain to work on how to make up my own recipes. Thanks for linking up to Sunday Round Up!xoxoHeather

  2. I will be trying this one! I'm always looking for ways to make treats healthier. I haven't tried baking with Truvia yet, but with the addition of honey, I imagine the result would be quite sweet. Thanks for the recipe!

  3. These look really good, I like how they cost so much less than the store kind. Thanks for sharing at Showcase Your Talent Thursday! I hope to see you there next week!

  4. These look so yummy! Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe! We loved having you link up to our "Strut Your Stuff Saturday." Please join us again next week! Thanks! -The Sisters

  5. Sounds like a great recipe and I'll have to try it. However, you're missing the 7 whole grains that Kashi features in their cookies and which are a big draw for me. You could easily remedy this by substituting some of the nuts and oats with a 7 grain cereal like Bob's brand. When I make mine, this is what I'll be doing.🙂

Leave a Reply

